Skip to content

Sydney Pollack Blogathon, July 1-22, 2013

June 6, 2013

After having conducted  successfully, blogathons  on  Ridley Scott, Michael Mann, Tony Scott,  and Howard Hawks, the time has now come for another  blogathon.  Actually the next quarter, would see 3 back to back blogathons conducted on 3 of the most  influential directors in American cinema, Sydney Pollack,  Roman Polanski  and Oliver Stone.  The blogathons on Polanski and Stone, would be held in August, September tentatively, and the details would be up later.

pollack

Sydney Pollack, one of the more influential directors of the 70’s and 80’s, and not just a director, a pretty good actor too and produced some great  movies.  As a director, his collaboration  with Robert Redford  produced  some memorable cinema- The Electric Horseman, Out of Africa, Jeremiah Johnson, The Way We Were, 3 Days of the Condor, Havana.  His directorial output covers the whole range from love stories( The Way We Were)  to conspiracy thrillers( 3 Days of the Condor)  to  legal dramas( The Firm),  to Westerns( Jeremiah Johnson) and  epic sagas( Out of  Africa).  And as an actor he has proved his mettle in Michael Clayton, Tootsie, The Player,A Civil Action, Eyes Wide Shut.  While  as a movie maker, he has given us sucSh memorable cinema like Searching for Bobby Fisher, Michael Clayton, The Talented Mr.Ripley.   Movie maker, director, actor, truly one of the more  influential persons in the history of American cinema,  the blogathon  on  Sydney Pollack, will kick off from July 1( his birth date)  to July 22, 2013.

What can you  contribute?

Anything  related to  Sydney Pollack, right from articles on the man, interviews, reviews not just of the movies he directed, even those he produced,  his  collaborations with  Robert Redford, his  record as an actor.

How can I contribute?

You  could  put up a post  on your  blog, or even directly publish here if you wish to.  The posts  should  carry a link saying it is published as part  of  the Sydney Pollack Blogathon here.  Also  you can put up the following images, promoting the blogathon on your site.  Make sure, the image is linked to the Blogathon.

sp1 sp3 sp4 sp6 sp8 sp9 sp10 sp11

 

26 Comments
  1. looking forward to it! 🙂

  2. Thanks for a great blogathon concept, Ratnakar! I’ll let you know when my “The Way We Were” post is ready!

  3. As I said in the e-mail, I’ll write about the partnership of Pollack and Robert Redford. It’s sad I only camr to know your blog with the Howard Hawks blogathon, so I missed the previous events!
    Greetings!

  4. I just found this event through another blog — it sounds great, could I join? I was thinking of writing about They Shoot Horses, Don’t They?, but do I have to choose right now? Also, I share Lê’s wishes of wanting to have found your blog sooner, I would’ve loved to be a part of the Howard Hawk’s blogathon!

    • Sofia,You are welcome to join . You can choose your topic, whenever you feel like. Only thing is just send me a link to the post you had written. Also please do promote the blogathon at your site, using one of the pictures given. When you are posting as part of the blogathon, please do mention you are posting as part of it,with a link to blogathon. Welcome on board.

  5. Hi Ratnakar,

    Since Kellee and Sofia chose my intended topics, (THE NERVE! ;-)) I think I’m going to choose something “different” (for me) and go with THE FIRM.

    Aurora

    • Well sure, hope no one is choosing 3 Days of the Condor, was planning to do on that.

      • I thought seriously about that one too since it screened at TCMFF, but drawn to The Firm for some reason. We’ll see what I think because I haven’t seen it in ages.

        Aurora

  6. Jeremiah Johnson, Yakuza, up for grabs, two of Pollack’s more underrated movies IMO.

  7. This sounds amazing. I’ll be sure to follow it since I just discovered your site. I’ll first need to check the very prolific Pollack’s filmography and decide if/what I can contribute. I believe the only film of his I’ve seen is Tootsie and that’s in my top 100 so if I do participate it’ll also be a journey for me.
    Too bad I missed the Howard Hawks blogathon.

  8. Great idea! I finished my Pollack retrospective earlier this year; feel free to link to any of these pieces for your blogathon. I look forward to following along.

    Links to all of Pollacks films can be found here (scroll down a little): http://kolson-kevinsblog.blogspot.com/p/director-retrospectives.html

    • Kevin that is an awesome set of reviews you have, covered virtually every movie of Pollack, and a great site to boot. Please do feel free to check out my review on 3 Days of the Condor, maybe not as great as yours.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Sydney Pollack’s, THE FIRM | Citizen Screenings
  2. Michael Clayton | Seetimaar-Diary of a Movie Lover
  3. Michael Clayton- Truth can be adjusted | Seetimaar-Diary of a Movie Lover
  4. Roman Polanski Blogathon, Aug 18-Sep 2,2013 | Seetimaar-Diary of a Movie Lover
  5. Sydney Pollack Blogathon- The Way We Were | Seetimaar-Diary of a Movie Lover
  6. TMT: On Our Way to Were | It Rains... You Get Wet
  7. Oliver Stone Blogathon,Sept 15-Oct 6,2013 | Seetimaar-Diary of a Movie Lover
  8. Steven Soderbergh Blogathon | Seetimaar-Diary of a Movie Lover
  9. John Frankenheimer Blogathon( Feb 19-March 1, 2015) | Seetimaar-Diary of a Movie Lover

Leave a comment