Skip to content

Mike Nichols(Nov 6, 1931- Nov 19,2014)- A Blogathon Tribute.

November 21, 2014

Mike Nichols, a director with whom I share my birthday- Nov 6.  Apart from the personal connect, he remains one of my favorite directors, and a blogathon was due on him from quite some time. I was sort of sad, when I heard the news of his passing away on Nov 19, his last movie Charlie Wilson’s War, was a brilliant satire on the Cold War, US involvement in Afghanistan, add to it fabulous performances by Tom Hanks( in a role much different from his Mr.Nice Guy image) and Philip Seymour Hoffman. In his long career, Nichols has directed movies ranging from the great( Graduate, Who’s Afraid of Virginian Woolf, Silkwood) to just about good( Postcards from the Edge)  to utter meh( Day of the Dolphin). Though Nichols often tried crowd pleasing stuff like Day of the Dolphin or horror like Wolf,, his forte was the personal movie. Of people and their relationships, he was at his best exploring human relationships in all their complexity.

In tribute to one of my favorite directors, I am doing this blogathon on my site here. I had earlier done  blogathons on Ridley Scott, Tony Scott, Roman Polanski, Howard Hawks, Michael Mann,Steven Soderbergh that turned out quite well. So here is looking forward to contributions for the blogathon, in the form of movie reviews, articles, interviews, anything related to Nichols.  Also please request to use the given pictures on your blog for promoting it.

mnb1 mnb2 mnb3 mnb4 mnb5 mnb6

Any one interestd in contributing can please mail me at  ratnakar.techie@gmail.com

2 Comments
  1. Great idea Ratnakar! I think I’d do a review of Working Girl. RIP Mr Nichols.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. John Frankenheimer Blogathon( Feb 19-March 1, 2015) | Seetimaar-Diary of a Movie Lover

Leave a Reply

